Jovitalk - Bon Jovi Fan Community
Home Register Members FAQ

If you can't afford the "Work" photo book, maybe this will do

General BJ Discussion

Old 08-26-2014, 09:40 PM
Something for the Posts

Default If you can't afford the "Work" photo book, maybe this will do

The Denver Post has twenty-five of the photos.

As a rock concert photographer myself, I fear that they only showcase Dave Bergman's lack of skill with indoor lighting and depth of field: He's much better with natural light and outdoor shooting (see photos #21, #22 and this). And why does he turn all his black and white pics into brown and white ones -- does he think coloring them adds to their value?

Photos 1, 4, 12 and 16 should be in color, #6 could be much more effective cropped and in black and white or a monotone. I'm glad Bergman decided that #15 shouldn't be in color, but he should have used a blue rather than brown monotone to exploit the moonlight effect. Nor does Bergman do the most basic retouching -- #7 should have the mic stand removed or cropped out, and the fan in #8 has a hand growing out of her head (fixed here).

Photo #17 is as close as I can come to having a favorite; the rest are just ordinary one-dimensional glorified snapshots.

P.S. Bon Jovi.com is inviting fans to send in pics of themselves reading their copy of Work (http://twitter.com/#bonjoviwork).

Remember how we used to talk about busting out? We'd break their hearts together...forever...

You and me and our old friends / hoping it would never end / holding on to never say goodbye...

Last edited by rocknation; 06-23-2022 at 04:06 PM..

Old 08-31-2014, 06:15 PM
Something for the Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocknation View Post
Photo...#6 could be much more effective cropped and in black and white or a monotone...
Not bad at all...

Photo: Dave Bergman
Photo Styling: Rocknation

Remember how we used to talk about busting out? We'd break their hearts together...forever...